Minutes of Meeting # 71 | ‘Star Wars’

Meeting #71 was a joint meeting with Young Adult Toastmasters (YAT) held on the 13th of May 2017. The theme of the meeting was “Star Wars”. The meeting started at 4:15 PM. The Acting Officers were TM Jahangir as the VP Education, DTM Khurram Salman as the VP Public Relations, TM Nauman as the Secretary and TM Nada Qamber as the VP Education from YAT. The Sgts @ Arms TM Umar Mukhtar & TM Abdulla Al Jaberi introduced the Presidents TM Mary Sharon & TM Maram Al Aradi. Presidents called the meeting to order. They then introduced the guests and accepted apologies presented by VP Educations. The apologies were TM Roya, TM Aftab, TM Taranjot, TM Saaniya, TM Thuraya, TM Eman from BEST and TM Ruqaiya, TM Mahmood from YAT. The acting VP Education after presenting the apologies mentioned that there was 1 amendment to be made in the agenda. The HPL Presentation of the Area Director was to be cancelled. TM Mary raised the motion to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded by TM Mahmood.

President then introduced the Grammarian (TM Nadeen Ali), who introduced her role and the word of the day “Extricate”. President then introduced the Ah-Counter (TM Abdulla Al Jaberi) and he explained his role too. Then the presidents gave their Presidential Address.

The president asked the Secretaries TM Roya Adel and TM Suzan Karaja to check if the quorum was complete. Both the secrataries, after counting the present members, replied with “Yes, the quorum is complete.” The business session was skipped since it was a joint meeting.

Then president introduced the MC of the day, TM Jonathan Watson. MC took control and introduced the Timer (TM Ahmed Al Basry) to give the Timing Criteria for all the speakers and evaluators. Then the Educational Session was held. MC introduced the first speaker (TM Fatima Saeed), who delivered her P#1 from the CC track with the speech title “Always Beautiful” and her individual Evaluator was TM Nada Qamber. The second speaker was (TM Maryam Alkhuzaei), who delivered her P#2 from the CC manual titled “KonMari”. Her individual Evaluator was TM Jahangir Khan. The third speaker was (TM Suzan Karaja), who delivered her P#3 from the CC manual titled “That’s Not It”. Her individual Evaluator was TM Asrar Merchant. The fourth speaker was (TM Naila Abdulaziz), who delivered her P#8 from the CC manual titled “Rethink”. Her individual Evaluator was TM Najla Qamber.

After the prepared speech session, a ten-minute break was held.

The Table Topic Session was held after the break and the Table Topic Master for the evening was TM Sawsan from BEST and TM James from YAT

A privileged motion was raised by TM Maram Al Aradi to extend the meeting by 10 minutes. It was seconded by TM Najla Qamber. Then the MC introduced the General Evaluator DTM Manal Al Matrook to give his valuable Evaluation on the overall meeting as well as asked for the role players’ reports. The individual evaluators also gave their evaluation speeches.

Then the Awarding session was held. The MC then announced the names of the winners.

Best Table Topic Commentator: TM Khaled Ismail

Best Evaluator: TM Asrar Merchant

Best Speaker: TM Naila Abdulaziz

President then gave the details of the upcoming meeting to be held on June 3rd, 2017. The meeting was adjourned at 6:45 PM.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s